New Jersey Inventors Hall of Fame 2008 Award Winners



Hall of Fame:

♣ Herman Sokol, Ph.D. Tetracycline

♣ Eugene Gordon, Ph.D. Practical semiconductor laser

→ James West, Ph.D. and Gerhard Sessler, Ph.D. Electroacoustic transducer

₩ Willard Boyle, Ph.D and George Smith, Ph.D Charge coupled device

Inventor of the Year:

Amit Limaye, M.S.
Sidney Pestka, M.D.
Chem. & bio. agent detector
Recombinant interferons

Innovators Award

Mohammed Ettouney, D.Sc. Progressive collapse theory

Ali Abdi, Ph.D. Acoustic communication

➤ Michael Wong, M.D. Improvements in cataract surgery

Graduate Student Awards

• Zhiqiang Gao, Ph.D. Internet attack protection

• Amey Shevtekar, M.S. Denial of service attack protection

• Hong Zhang, Ph.D. Wireless mobile speed measurement

• Amit Goyal, Ph.D. Nanotube manipulation

2008 TRUSTEES AWARD:SAUL K. FENSTER, Ph.D.

In 1987, Dr. Saul Fenster collaborated with the late Mr. Philip Sperber to establish the nation's first, and to date the only, statewide inventors hall of fame. Having served as the President of the New Jersey Inventors Hall of Fame (NJIHoF) in 1990 and again in 1995 and 1996, this President Emeritus was also the President of the New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT). NJIT thus served as the sponsor of the NJIHoF from 1987 until Dr. Fenster's retirement from NJIT in 2002.

More details about this remarkable individual will appear in the program for the 2008 NJIHoF Awards Banquet program to be held on October 23, 2008 on the campus of the current sponsor, Stevens Institute of Technology. His contributions will also soon be featured on the NJIHoF website.