Faculty's Homepage -- Nirwan Ansari

Bio Sketch
COMSOC Chapter
MS Telecom
MS Internet Engrng.

Copyright © 2002
All Rights Reserved

Bio Sketch

Nirwan Ansari, Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the New Jersey Institute of Technology (NJIT), received his Ph.D. from Purdue University, West Lafayette, M.S.E.E. from University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, and B.S.E.E. (summa cum laude, with a perfect gpa) from NJIT, Newark, respectively. He is a Fellow of IEEE and a Fellow of National Academy of Inventors.

He authored with Tao Han with Green Mobile Networks: A Networking Perspective (2017, Wiley-IEEE), with J. Zhang Media Access Control and Resource Allocation for Next Generation Passive Optical Networks (2013, Springer), with E.S.H. Hou Computational Intelligence for Optimization (1997, Springer), and edited with B. Yuhas Neural Networks in Telecommunications (1994, Springer). He has also (co-)authored more than 600 technical publications. He has guest-edited a number of special issues covering various emerging topics in communications and networking. He has served on the editorial/advisory board of over ten journals including as Associate Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Wireless Communications. His current research focuses on green communications and networking, cloud computing, drone-assisted networking, and various aspects of broadband networks.

He was elected to serve in the IEEE Communications Society (COMSOC) Board of Governors as a member-at-large, has chaired some ComSoc technical and steering committees, is current Director of ComSoc Educational Services Board, has been serving in many committees such as the IEEE Fellow Committee, and has been actively organizing numerous International Conferences/Symposia/Workshops. He is frequently invited to deliver keynote addresses, distinguished lectures, tutorials, and invited talks. Some of his recognitions include several excellence in teaching awards, a few best paper awards, the NCE Excellence in Research Award, several ComSoc TC technical recognition awards, the NJ Inventors Hall of Fame Inventor of the Year Award, the Thomas Alva Edison Patent Award, Purdue University Outstanding Electrical and Computer Engineering Award, the NCE 100 Medal, and designation as a COMSOC Distinguished Lecturer. He has also been granted more than 40 U.S. patents.